Diabetes

My T1D Story – E

I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes (T1D) on January 16th, 2006. I was living in Florida and in the 5th grade. I lost 15 pounds in a week and weighed a total of 55 pounds upon diagnosis. I was in Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA) and close to being in a come. I stayed in the pediatric intensive care unit for a week. For two years I took insulin shots up to five times a day then I made the leap to the Medtronic pump. While I was grateful for the pump and not having to give myself shots every day (I have a huge needle phobia, I still was not in love with my diabetes management system. I had numerous pump failures and my A1C was 8.5+ for 4 years. In November 2016 (thanks to KG) I made the switch to the OmniPod and I AM IN LOVE. Anytime someone sees my pod and asks what is on my arm, my face lights up and I go on and on about how amazing the OmniPod system is. Since the switch my A1C has dropped to 7.5 and I feel less like a robot than ever before.

In the 4,000 + days that I have been diabetic, I have been hospitalized 7 times due to diabetes and been in DKA a total of 3 times. Diabetes has complicated the most simple aspects of my life. It controls what and when I eat, changes my mood on a whim, keeps me up at night, and makes my health care that much more important. While diabetes might be a pain in my butt daily, I am grateful for the lessons I have learned from it. Diabetes has taught me to be independent and to care for my body, it has taught me to advocate for myself, and most of all it has brought me one of my best friends (KG). I love sharing my T1D experiences with other people and I hope I can inspire others the way I have been inspired by so many T1Ds in my life.

Love,

E

Leave a Reply

